Big Foot Sprints XXI Macquarie Hospital Sunday 23rd December 2018



Preview

Big Foot Productions are pleased to bring you the 21st edition of Australia's longest-running Sprint-O event (possibly the longest in the Southern Hemisphere).

Details

Start times for the first sprint are 9.00am to 10.00am, with the second sprint to start at 11.00am + first sprint time (i.e. if you took 15 mins on course 1 your start time would be 11.15am for course 2).

To be included in the chasing start you need to be finished by 10.30am and take under 60 minutes. If you do not manage these conditions then you can still run the second course and can start at any time between 11.00am and 12.00noon using a punching start.

Anyone wanting a split start on course two can start late using a punching start, the chasing starters will start with no punch (technology permitting).

Anyone only wanting to complete one course is welcome to do so but will unfortunately not be eligible for exciting prizes.

SIAC+ technology will be enabled on the controls but NOT for the start (for the chasing start no one will have to punch the start control) or the finish.

Courses

Big Foot Sprints is run over two courses, both in the region of 3km (optimum route) with winning times (M21) of 12 minutes each.

The second course is where the fun starts and is run as a true chasing start. You can expect some closely fought finishes.

Classes

As always only two; open men and open women and everybody runs the same courses.

Entries

Enter online here. Online entry is only required and available for Big Foot Sprints.

Fees for Big Foot Sprints (seniors): \$15 member of an orienteering club, \$18 non-member

Fees for Big Foot Sprints (under 21 at 31/12/2018): \$10.00 member, \$13.00 non-member

Entries close midnight Thursday 20th December.

Entry on the day may be available depending on the number of pre-entries for \$20.00. Add \$3 if you are not a club member. **To guarantee a run you are advised to pre-enter!**

SportIdent stick hire will be available for \$4. Lost rental sticks will be charged at \$40.

Map

Macquarie Hospital – North Ryde, 1:4000.

Course and Terrain Notes

The courses are run on a mixture of hard surface and grass. If it is dry then flat road shoes will be fine but if wet then more grippy footwear may be better. Shoes with metal studs are not suitable.

The area is made up of buildings of irregular shapes spread over a grassy slope. It is very runnable and the courses should test your ability to make decisions quickly.

The area is quite small so the courses cross over themselves several times. Please take care to check you are going to the correct control especially if you are caught up in the excitement of the chasing start.

Parking and Layout

Available in the car parks just off Twin Road, NW of the junction with Badajoz road.



Toilets

Unfortunately, there are no toilets available at the hospital. The closest public toilets are situated in Gannan Park approximately 600m from the assembly area. Gannan Park can be accessed off Numa Street, one of the side roads leading SW of Twin Road.

Contact details

Contact Grace Molloy gracemolloy13@gmail.com.

Past Winners

The Time	The Place	The boy	The girl
1997	Darks Common	Mike Billinghurst (BF)	Catherine Annabel Liggins (BF)
1998	Billenbenbong Creek	Jock Davis (BF)	Catherine Annabel Liggins (BF)
1999	Riverview	Alan Gard (NC)	Julie Calder (BF)
2001	The Big Show	Neil Prosser (BF)	Catherine Annabel Liggins (BF)
2002	Darks Common	Robbie Preston (NC)	Catherine Annabel Liggins (BF)
2003	The Big Show	Jock Davis (BF)	Grace Elson (WR)
2004	Beecroft Park	Andrew Hill (WHO)	Jo Parr (BF)
2005	The Big Show	Andrew Hill (WHO)	Carol Osborne (BF)
2006	Darks Common	Dave Meyer (SH)	Yelena Fairfax (MF)
2007	The Big Show	Jock Davis (BF)	Jo Parr (BF)
2008	UTS Lindfield and Lane Cove NP	Dave Shepherd (RR)	Jo Allison (RR)
2009	Nurragingy	Jock Davis (BF)	Tracy Marsh (BF)
2010	Olympic Park	Lachlan Dow (BS)	Tracy Marsh (BF), Lisa Grant (GO)

2011	The Big Show	Josh Blatchford (NC)	Cath Chalmers (BF)
2012	Darks Common	Patrik Gunnarsson (BF)	Tracy Marsh (BF)
2013	Sydney University	Andrew Brown (BF)	Rachel Effeney (UG)
2014	The Big Show	Christian Tingström (Göteborg Majorna OK)	Viktoria Ernstsson (Göteborg Majorna OK)
2015	Bicentennial Park	Toby Wilson (GO)	Marina Iskhakova (BN)
2016	Crimson Hill	Julian Dent (CC)	Shannon Jones (AO)
2017	Nurragingy	Aidan Dawson (GO)	Lisa Grant (GO)
2018	Macquarie Hospital	?	?

Race not held in 2000, by special request of Juan, to avoid reducing the quality of competition at the Olympics.