

## Final Bulletin ACT League # 6 – 2 June 2019

**Important:** Every year when the Red Roos club stages the Jim Sawkins Memorial Handicap it tries to have an event which Jim would have enjoyed and in which he would have done well. Jim excelled in Relays and other Mass Start events, thus most Memorial events have had Mass Starts and many have been multi-looped races. This year's event will have Mass starts, but there will be no loops. Instead all courses will have a relatively long leg to the first control, offering competitors multiple route choices.

## **Event Information**

This year all competitors have had to pre-enter and pre-pay so **there is no need for competitors to report to Registration**. Competitors only have to be at the Start 10 minutes before their Start Time. No course has more than 27 controls.

**Note:** There will be 60 controls scattered throughout a relatively small area, with some relatively close to each other, so check your control numbers.

**Venue:** The venue for the 2019 Jim Sawkins Classic (ACT League # 6) is Mt Jerrabomberra on the outskirts of Queanbeyan and Jerrabomberra.

**Parking:** Parking will be at *The Scar* car park on Southbar Road, Karabar about 1km from its junction with Lanyon Drive. A **Toilet** will be located in or near the Car park.

**On Arrival.** All competitors on Red and Orange courses may go straight to the Start which will be located to the west of the entrance to the Car Park. **Clear and Check** units will be at the Start.

Map: Mt Jerrabomberra, prepared by Tate Needham, 2017. Scale 1:7500, 5m contours

**Course Details** [All maps will be printed on water-proof Monsoon paper.] All course control descriptions are on the maps and there will not be any loose control descriptions.

Course	Distance (km)	Climb	Controls	Mass Start times #
Red 1	9.1	410 m	27	10.15
Red 2	7.9	325 m	24	10.20
Red 3	6.5	275 m	17	10.25
Red 4	5.0	175 m	15	10.30
Red 5	3.5	100 m	11	10.30
Orange 1	4.5	185 m	15	10.35
Orange 2	3.0	100 m	12	10.40
Green	2.2	125 m	10	##
Blue	1.5	60 m	11	##

**##** Green & Blue Course competitors may start any time between 10.00 am and 11.30 pm.

**Early/Split Start Times:** Early/Split Start times will be permitted for competitors with good reason, eg to couples with young children and for whom one of the parents must be present to look after the children as no other option is available. The first competitor will be permitted to start from 10.00 am using a punching start and the second competitor will start as soon as the first competitor is available for child minding.

**Safety – Course Closure:** Course closure time is 2.00 pm. Please report back to the finish by then even if you do not finish your course. The **Safety bearing** is North to Southbar Road.

## **Competition Details**

The Jim Sawkins Classic includes a Handicap competition with two Divisions:

- Division 1, on ACT League course Red 1, an Open competition for all ages and both genders.
- Division 2, on ACT League other Red (Hard) courses, a Restricted competition for competitors of both genders, but only for Men aged under 21 and 35 and over and all Women.

Competitors' times are 'corrected' in accordance with the same Age/Gender factors used for ACT League and Runners Shop Twilight Series competitions to determine the winners. Thus competitors need to be sure that their correct age and gender are recorded in the Eventor.

Year	Division 1	Division 2	
2008	Geoff Lawford	Wayne Gregson	
2009	Lachlan Dow	Jenny Bourne	
2010	Oliver Poland	Liz Abbott	
2011	Geoff Stacey	Rob Jessop	
2012	Matt Crane	Ross Stewart	
2013	Matt Crane	Rob Jessop	
2014	Matt Crane	Anita Scherrer	
2015	Rob Walter	Jo Allison	
2016	Zoe Melhuish	Jo Allison	
2017	Grant Bluett	Zoe Melhuish	
2018	Matt Crane	Ian Prosser	



The previous winners have been:

The winners used to receive a suitably engraved memento, but from 2015 onwards the names of divisional winners have been engraved on a shield; see above photo.

**Enquiries.** All enquiries should be directed to Bob Mouatt to email address <u>robert.mouatt@netspeed.com.au</u> or to mobile phone 0429 398 794.