Big Foot Sprints XXIII Ararat Reserve, Frenchs Forest Sunday 7th February 2021

Bulletin 3

Updated 16 January 2021.

Overview

Big Foot Consolidated Enterprises hosts the 23rd version of Australia's longestrunning Sprint-O event (possibly the longest in the Southern Hemisphere).

Your event offers unlimited excitement of a chasing start for your second course!



Courses are by Richard Mountstephens in the sprint-challenging terrain of Frenchs Forest using the 1:4000 Ferretville Map courtesy of Bennelong Northside Orienteers.

Covid-19 Safety Plan

There is an event-specific COVID-19 Safety Plan. Anyone with symptoms of COVID-19, even mild symptoms, should not attend the event before they receive a negative COVID-19 test result. Symptoms of COVID-19 include: fever (37.5° or higher), cough, sore throat, shortness of breath (difficulty breathing), runny nose, loss of taste, loss of smell.

Courses and classes

Big Foot Sprints is a single event run over two courses, both approximately **3km** (optimum route) with winning times (M21) of 12 minutes each.

As always for the Big Foot Sprints there are **only two classes**: **open men** and **open women**. Everybody runs the same courses.

The courses should test your ability to **navigate detail** and to **make** good decisions quickly.

The second course is where the fun starts. It is run as a **true chasing start**, based on your time in over the first course. Expect to see bouts of start-frenzy and some closely fought finishes.

To make the most of the area the **courses may cross over themselves** several times.

Please take care to **check you are going to the correct control** especially if you are in the excitement of the chasing start.

Anyone wanting to complete only the first course is welcome to do so. The entry fee is the same and you will be ineligible for the traditional prizes!

SIAC+ technology will be enabled on the controls but NOT for the start or the finish.

The chasing start has no punch – just run!

Other starters must punch start.

Starts





2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.	course #1 start window	Queuing starts (at Ararat Reserve). Start during the window but finish by 3:45 p.m .
3:45 p.m.	course #1 closure	Must finish by 3:45 p.m. After finishing, download lickety- split.
4:00 p.m.	course #2 chasing starts, timed from 4 pm	From second start location at Ararat Reserve. Chasing starts. No punch start. Keep your 1.5m physical distancing!
		Your course #2 starts at 4:00 p.m. + your first course time. E.g., if you took 15 minutes 23 seconds on course #1 then your start time for course #2 will be 4:15:23 p.m.
		To be in the chasing start for course #2 you must finish your course #1 by 3:45 p.m. and take under 60 minutes.
approx. 4:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.	possible mass start and late starters	Depending on weather and numbers, a likely mass start of remaining entrants will be approximately 4:30 p.m.
5.00 p.m.		Any remaining starters can start up to 5:00 p.m. (but must finish by course closure).
		Punch start for all mass and later starters.
5:45 p.m.	second course closure	Must finish by 5:45 p.m.

Assembly, map, terrain and control descriptions

Assembly location: Ararat Reserve, Frenchs Forest. Best early bird parking might be Grattan Crescent.

Map: Bennelong Northside Orienteers' **Ferretville sprint orienteering map**, adapted from the Ferretville map to sprint standard, 1:4000 scale with contour interval 2.5 m. Maps, printed on Pretex water and tear resistant paper, will only be at the starts. **BYO map sleeve**, if you wish.

The courses are run on a mixture of bush tracks, bush, open ground and neighbourhood streets. **Leg covering** is strongly recommended.

Rocks and tracks will be slippery in wet weather. Shoes with metal studs are not permitted.

Control descriptions will be on the maps and will available for download from Eventor from the evening of Friday 5 February 2021. No printed control descriptions will be available at the event.

Results and prizes

Results will be available ONLY online.

At the event, results will not be available - by screen or in print.

Class winners will be gifted traditional prizes.

Entries and fees

Eventor's online entry is required for Big Foot Sprints. No enter on day (EOD).

Entries close midnight Thursday 4th February 2021.

Fees for Big Foot Sprints:

seniors: \$15 member of an orienteering club, \$19 non-member.

under 21 (as at 31/12/2021): \$10.00 members, \$14.00 non-member.

SportIdent stick hire will be available for \$4. Lost rental sticks will be charged at \$40 plus a polite rebuke and, when you are not looking, rolling of eyes.

Control descriptions will be available from Eventor from the evening of Friday 5 February 2021.

Amenities

Parking is adjacent to and nearby Ararat Reserve (Bantry Bay Road and Grattan Crescent). Please consider nearby residents and community organisations.

When arriving, please **beware of runners** as you drive through the neighbourhood.

BYO water.

Toilets are available on site.

Event organiser

Andrew Mac Donald <u>andrewmacdonald0402@gmail.com</u> or mob: 04 02 04 1101 Big Foot Orienteers

Past Winners

The Time	The Place	The boy	The girl
1997	Darks Common	Mike Billinghurst (BF)	Catherine Annabel Liggins (BF)
1998	Billenbenbong Creek	Jock Davis (BF)	Catherine Annabel Liggins (BF)
1999	Riverview	Alan Garde (NC)	Julie Calder (BF)
2001	The Big Show	Neil Prosser (BF)	Catherine Annabel Liggins (BF)
2002	Darks Common	Robbie Preston (NC)	Catherine Annabel Liggins (BF)
2003	The Big Show	Jock Davis (BF)	Grace Elson (WR)
2004	Beecroft Park	Andrew Hill (WHO)	Jo Parr (BF)
2005	The Big Show	Andrew Hill (WHO)	Carol Osborne (BF)
2006	Darks Common	Dave Meyer (SH)	Yelena Fairfax (MF)
2007	The Big Show	Jock Davis (BF)	Jo Parr (BF)
2008	UTS Lindfield and Lane Cove NP	Dave Shepherd (RR)	Jo Allison (RR)
2009	Nurragingy	Jock Davis (BF)	Tracy Marsh (BF)
2010	Olympic Park	Lachlan Dow (BS)	Tracy Marsh (BF), Lisa Grant (GO)
2011	The Big Show	Josh Blatchford (NC)	Cath Chalmers (BF)
2012	Darks Common	Patrik Gunnarsson (BF)	Tracy Marsh (BF)
2013	Sydney University	Andrew Brown (BF)	Rachel Effeney (UG)
2014	The Big Show	Christian Tingström (Göteborg Majorna OK)	Viktoria Ernstsson (Göteborg Majorna OK)
2015	Bicentennial Park	Toby Wilson (GO)	Marina Iskhakova (BN)
2016	Crimson Hill	Julian Dent (CC)	Shannon Jones (AO)
2017	Nurragingy	Aidan Dawson (GO)	Lisa Grant (GO)
2018	Macquarie Hospital	Ewan Shingler (BF)	Michele Dawson (GO)
2019	Callan Park	Alastair George (BF)	Nea Shingler (BF)

Race not held in 2000, by special request of Juan, to avoid reducing the quality of competition at the Olympics.

Race not held in 2021 due to competition from COVID-19.